Books

The Case of the Silent Partner #2020

The Case of the Silent Partner By Erle Stanley Gardner The Case of the Silent Partner Successful florist Mildred Faulkner finds that the flower business is no bed of roses when arch competitor Harry Peavis secretly buys stock in her small family owned corporation While Peavis proposes
  • Title: The Case of the Silent Partner
  • Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
  • ISBN: 9780345336842
  • Page: 292
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • The Case of the Silent Partner By Erle Stanley Gardner Successful florist Mildred Faulkner finds that the flower business is no bed of roses when arch competitor Harry Peavis secretly buys stock in her small, family owned corporation While Peavis proposes a partnership, Mildred suspects he s really plotting a power play.So to keep the scurrilous shareholder from muscling her out, she seeks Perry Mason s expertise.But even theSuccessful florist Mildred Faulkner finds that the flower business is no bed of roses when arch competitor Harry Peavis secretly buys stock in her small, family owned corporation While Peavis proposes a partnership, Mildred suspects he s really plotting a power play.So to keep the scurrilous shareholder from muscling her out, she seeks Perry Mason s expertise.But even the legendary legal eagle may be stymied when Mildred s company is plundered by her ne er do well brother in law to pay off a gambling debt The money trail leads to a nightclub hostess and her boss And when one is poisoned, and the other murdered, the trail of evidence leads right back to Mildred Mason know the feisty florist is no shrinking violetbut does she have the pluck to be a cold blooded killer
    The Case of the Silent Partner By Erle Stanley Gardner
    • UNLIMITED AUDIOBOOK ¹ The Case of the Silent Partner - by Erle Stanley Gardner
      292 Erle Stanley Gardner
    • thumbnail Title: UNLIMITED AUDIOBOOK ¹ The Case of the Silent Partner - by Erle Stanley Gardner
      Posted by:Erle Stanley Gardner
      Published :2020-01-16T22:39:58+00:00

    About "Erle Stanley Gardner"

    1. Erle Stanley Gardner

      Erle Stanley Gardner was an American lawyer and author of detective stories who also published under the pseudonyms A.A Fair, Kyle Corning, Charles M Green, Carleton Kendrake, Charles J Kenny, Les Tillray, and Robert Parr.Innovative and restless in his nature, he was bored by the routine of legal practice, the only part of which he enjoyed was trial work and the development of trial strategy In his spare time, he began to write for pulp magazines, which also fostered the early careers of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler He created many different series characters for the pulps, including the ingenious Lester Leith, a gentleman thief in the tradition of Raffles, and Ken Corning, a crusading lawyer who was the archetype of his most successful creation, the fictional lawyer and crime solver Perry Mason, about whom he wrote than eighty novels With the success of Perry Mason, he gradually reduced his contributions to the pulp magazines, eventually withdrawing from the medium entirely, except for non fiction articles on travel, Western history, and forensic science.See at enpedia wiki Erle_Sta

    720 Comments

    1. All the previous books of the series followed roughly the same general plot A client came to Perry Mason office with a non trivial but also not critical problem Mason began investigating usually involving Paul Drake until a dead body showed up with all evidence pointing to his client being the murderer Mason continued the investigation while avoiding the obstacles created by his archenemy Sergeant Holcomb until the court hearing where he would finally show the truth with skillful cross examinati [...]



    2. Hardly any court scene in this one It was a pure suspence First one at that Very interesting at that Another variance is the civil proceeding at that I don t think Mason has appeared in a civil suit in any other case Haven t read all Till now, this is a first at that too.


    3. No, but first we must discuss the cover A sultry but coy redhead in pool party attire, a stern male in a polo shirt crouching next to her, and a barbecue in the background I don t know who these people are, but they sure aren t in this book I think the 1962 publisher just told the illustrator, Hey, Mason ya know, give me something hot and broody No need to actually read the thing Meanwhile, back in 1940 Los Angeles, there is a lot of shenanigans going on regarding some missing stock and poisoned [...]


    4. When I found an old stash of Perry Mason books in my girlfriend s grandmother s old home, I thought I d pick some up and be mildly entertained by the quaintness of old legal thrillers I m surprised by how much I ended up liking this The plot zips along at a mile a minute, there are some relatively progressive female characters, and the book never speaks down to the reader Sign me up for


    5. Another mystery populated with genuine characters and Gardner s clear eyed view of the power wielded by prosecutors in the U.S This has not changed in the last 80 years Perry Mason can be best understood as an attorney who takes on this power structure, and enjoys the fight


    6. Lo, Let There Be Lt Tragg The plot was unpromising a stock dispute concerning a three store chain of flower shops Yawn, I thought, this is gonna be a dull one But I was of course delightfully surprised as the cast of characters began filling the stage, led of course by Lt Arthur Tragg making his premiere appearance And of course the stock dispute was simply the tenuous tie to a mysterious murder with many a motivated suspect Erle Stanley Gardner didn t let me down and came through with an exciti [...]


    7. 17 in the Perry Mason series Enjoyable programmer not one of the best but a respectable entry.Perry Mason series Successful florist Mildred Faulkner finds that the flower business is no bed of roses when arch competitor Harry Peavis secretly buys stock in her small, family owned business To keep from being muscled out of her own company, Mildred goes to Perry Mason But the legal eagle is stymied when Mildred s company is plundered by her brother in law to pay off gambling debts The money trail l [...]


    8. Might be one of the better Perry Mason novels The mystery itself is pretty typical of a Mason novel, but Gardner presents it better than in his earlier novels We see things from other points of view than Masons, which helps make the plot less confusing The other thing that makes this novel stand out is that Lt Tragg shows up, replacing Sergent Halcomb as head of homicide for the police Tragg is much intelligent and is a better foil to Mason, thwarting him at various steps.


    9. Missing stock, control over business mergers, bodies galore Things get a little too stretched out in number of players to keep it all straight Lt Tragg is still new to the scene and develops an interest in the female protagonist Della continues to do whatever Perry asks, including passing bad paper Lately, there s always someone in these books asking, You re Mr Masone lawyer His fame abounds.


    10. A quite convoluted plot, but I was surprised at the who dun it Perhaps the TV screenwriters were essential to get all of Gardner s set up down to 30 minutes, so we could have a trial for the last 30 minutes Perry really shines in his cross examinations The trial here is very short and on only a tangential point.


    11. My first Perry Mason read There is action before explanation in the book Mason acts and then the reader understands what exactly happened Faster than expected and the predictable end if someone has read watched thrillers.


    12. This book introduces Lt Tragg for the first time He proves to be a much better adversary than Sgt Holcomb, the opponent in previous novels His character makes for interesting reading Can t wait to read the next book in the series




    13. Not sure why but was just an ok mystery Was not able to guess or solve or anything, but didnt feel too impressed


    Leave a Comment